National Heritage Areas

The National Park Service describes the 49 existing National Heritage Areas as:

           “places where natural, cultural, historic, and scenic resources combine to form a cohesive, nationally important landscape arising from patterns of human activity shaped by geography.  These patterns make National Heritage Areas representative of the American experience through the physical features that remain and the traditions that have evolved within them.  These regions are acknowledged by Congress for their capacity to tell important stories about our nation.  Continued use of National Heritage Areas by people whose traditions helped to shape the landscape enhances their significance.”           

Visit the National Heritage Area program through the National Park Service website to learn more at and check out the National Heritage Areas brochure for locations and general information.

Download the National Heritage Area Brochure

Support education, research & preservation!

Learn More...

Video: Discover St. Augustine Florida